Today, I was finalising the November issue of the College’s CPD magazine on target setting (see previous versions on assessment and high expectations) and I had one of my little brainwaves… or brain fidgets at the very least!

To say that I wasn’t inspired by @TeacherToolkit ‘s wonderful 5 min plan series at this point, would be a total lie, so I won’t go there! Thank you for the inspiration Ross!

I have always placed target setting in the hands of the students as I’ve seen little point in me handing them a directive; they are far more likely to be motivated if it is led by their own needs. In addition to this, target writing can prove a useful measure of assessing how far students have understood the requirements of the unit and feedback received to date. If a student creates a target that doesn’t match any of the feedback you’ve given them, you know that work needs to be done on reviewing feedback… and so on.

Along with improving target setting, I have wanted to explore accountability much more this year. In the last couple of weeks, I’ve seen a real drop in homework submission. It’s becoming a problem I don’t want to battle with anymore, so I will instead tackle it.

Plan A was to change homework so that it becomes a more fun and memorable process, but also contains the level of learning and activity I want from them. I stumbled across Homeworkopoly and have set up a board. It will be installed in my classroom next week, along with some chance cards made from risk cards that @englishlulu has created (I love being a magpie, me!) Most weeks, students will complete whatever homework they land on. Some weeks, I will select a piece of homework for them, based on current targets in their work. This approach should lead to something a little more personalised too. I shall share more, including all of my street names and activities next week!

Plan B is to use a homework plan. I always set homework in the last of our three lessons of the week so students will now be given a review sheet each to reflect on homework just completed and homework they will need to complete for the following week. I hope that more time given in the lesson to plan the process will a) help them to remember it, b) place more importance on its completion and c) generate more accountability.

I have created a document for my personal tutees to plan for a tutorial.

Untitled

One for my English classes to plan target setting.

Untitled

One for my English students to plan their homework. 

Untitled

Please let me know your thoughts. These are in their early stages and it’d be great to get further suggestions. If you would like editable versions, just comment below or contact me via Twitter @hannahtyreman

