I recently read and learnt more about levelling in the classroom. Being on Twitter, I am in regular contact with many teachers in schools and it’s clear that levelling is used to measure progress for younger students in the school. It would seem that a student could be measured at a level 4 in one term and by the end of it, have made a whole level of progress (or more).

I suppose to a certain extent, this is achieved through grades. A student may start the term at a D grade and end the term producing B grade work. I find that this is rarely the reality; especially in the first term. Students are getting to grips with all kinds of knowledge and skills (neither being favoured over the other) and their grades can fluctuate. For the unit 1 exam of AS, the students are required to write a great deal in a short space of time. What a student is capable of producing without time constraints may greatly differ from what is produced under those stressful exam conditions and I wanted to reward that a little more.

The ladder of analysis was born! I wanted to reward those students who whose analysis skills were really developing as well as provide a clearer indication of what was required for other students’ analysis to improve. It’s great that the top of the ladder coincides with the target grade balloons they created at the start of the year!

photo 2

These are the descriptions of each of the 5 levels on the ladder:

Level 1

I can use full stops

I can identify figurative language

I state the effect on the reader sometimes

I never make links to the rest of the text

I rarely use quotes (unintegrated)

Level 2

I can use commas

I can identify phonology

I explore the effect on the reader sometimes

I rarely make links to the rest of the text

I use quotes (unintegrated)

Level 3

I can use apostrophes

I can identify sentence types

I explore the effect on the reader at all times

I sometimes make links to the rest of the text

I rarely integrate quotes

Level 4

I can use semi-colons

I can identify word classes

I connect the effect on the reader to the author’s intentions sometimes

I frequently make links to the rest of the text

I sometimes integrate quotes

Level 5

I can use a range of punctuation

I can identify a range of techniques

I always connect the effect on the reader to the author’s intentions

I make links all the time to the rest of the text

I integrate quotes all the time

Let me know your thoughts/ if you use something similar!

